Mentoring Matters

I had a troubled student a few years ago that was at risk. He was moody and sad most days. We developed a great bond and he began to improve. The old behavior would creep back every now and again, withdrawn and sullen. I spoke to the counselor about possibly getting a Mentor for him. His father was deceased and he could benefit from having someone to talk to. No Mentors were available. I decided this year I would volunteer my services. I researched on line and in 10 minutes I contacted a representative via email, in my local Department of Education. I have completed training and is waiting to meet my Mentee!  Give mentoring some thought. One hour a week could change a child’s life. 

Click link below to find out how to become a Mentor in your community!

http://www.mentoring.org/

Leave a Reply

